Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

8:56 p.m. - 2006-05-22
Sick Boy
Not been too well of late. Probably just a stomach bug, whatever that means.
I felt really iffy on thursday, even finishing early to go home, lie down and feel sorry for myself. Friday found me somewhat recovered, but en route to a meeting in Cleveland I started drifting into the arena of the unwell again. I survived the meeting and returned to the office to get absolutely no sympathy from colleagues, despite my best moans, anguished looks and about-to-swoon demeanour.
Saturday - well, fellow hypochondriacs will recognise this one - I felt so ill that I thought I was about to snuff it.
Whilst considering what I should pack in a bag for my one-way trip to the hospital, I made the mistake of looking in the medical book. You know the book I mean, because every home has one, kept purely for scaring the shite out of any cowards in the household with the slightest ache or wheeze. It's called something like 'A-Z of Family Health', 'The Home Doctor', or 'The Bumper Book of "Ah, Jeezus!" Diseases'.
Within minutes I had it nailed to some terrifying combination of acute pancreatitis and liver failure. There seemed to be only one course of action - LIE DOWN ON THE SETTEE AND HOPE IT GOES AWAY.
And so I spent all of saturday watching DVDs and waiting for my moment to 'go towards the light'.

The treatment:-
2 series of 'Black Books'
'A bit of Fry & Laurie'
'Alien'
'Say Anything'
'The Bourne Supremacy'
'King of the Hill'

Anyway it must have done the trick, because by Sunday I felt strong enough for a roast dinner followed by rhubarb crumble.
Nasty business that liver failure...


1 comments

 

previous - next

 

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!